Posts

Mendota Bail Bonds

Can I Still Be Charged For A Crime 10 Years Later?

Mendota Bail Bonds

If you committed some sort of illegal action some years ago and continue to think about how you got away with it. If you worry that it is going to come back and haunt you one day, you should learn what ‘statute of limitations’ means.

Statute of Limitations

A Statute of Limitations refers to the time within which legal proceedings may be brought against the suspect. This time period ranges based on what the crime is – it could be 5 years, 10 years, or there may not be a statute of limitations at all, like for very serious crimes such as murder. The clock starts ticking when the crime has been discovered.

So, if you committed a crime 3 years ago and prosecutors have 5 years to charge you, you can be charged anytime between now and 2 years. However, if you committed a crime 6 years ago and the statute of limitations was 3 years, you are off the hook.

So if you are worrying about whether or not you can still get in trouble for something illegal you did a few years back, look up the statute of limitations for the crime.

In the instance you are arrested and charged for that crime, Mendota Bail Bond Store can help you post bail. We offer affordable bail bonds and custom payment plans, making it easier and faster for defendants to post bail. You can reach us online or by phone at 559-674-0444. Consultation is FREE, so don’t hesitate to call and speak with one of our friendly bail agents to get your bail-related questions answered. They will be more than happy to assist you. While you’re at it, ask about our zero down bail bonds and bail bond discounts we offer. We are always available to help you 24/7. Call us anytime!

To learn more about services we offer at Mendota Bail Bond Store, call 559-674-0444 or Chat With Us now. Consultation is always FREE!

Mendota Bail Bonds

Graduates And Drinking

Mendota Bail Bonds

Graduation season is almost upon us, meaning that many young adults are getting ready to celebrate their success. Once they walk across that stage and get their diploma, they are going to go out and have a good time.

If your child is graduating from high school, be sure to remind him or her to behave him or herself. Chances are, if your child is graduating, he or she is over 18. This means he or she is now an adult in the eyes of the law, and any trouble he or she gets into will have real consequences.

This is especially true if he or she is caught drinking. In some states, minors are allowed to drink alcohol, but only if his or her legal guardian is supervising. However, that is not the case in California.

Graduates And Drinking

Minors are not allowed to drink under any circumstances. This means that if someone wants to drink in California, he or she has to be 21 or over.

Any minor caught drinking in California, can face a $250 fine and a maximum of 32 hours of community service for a first time offense. Repeat offenders will face a $500 fine, a maximum of 48 hours of community service, and the chance of having their driver’s license suspended for a year.

Any of these consequences could easily ruin the excitement of graduating from high school. So be sure to remind your graduate that he or she is an adult now and has to be responsible. Doing so can make the difference between a fun graduation celebration and a miserable one.